Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

So you don’t think you’re crafty…huh??? Well I have the PERFECT project for you to make you feel like you are Queen or King of the Craft World!

If you’ve never used MOD PODGE before you are in for a treat. You can pretty much decopage anything and turn a plain and boring item into something personalized and awesome.

We, as a family, are going through all our rooms and getting organized for the school year. We have turned our dining room into our school room. We’ve added floor to ceiling shelving on one of the walls to store all the school supplies. We took a trip to Ikea and bought these storage boxes (small & large ones) and these magazine holders. Of course I didn’t want just plain white ones so I turned to the easiest craft in the world to spice them up!

Here are the materials that you need to make them: You can get all of the materials at your local craft store. We had the comic books already.

  • MOD PODGE (I used gloss-lustre instead of matte finish)
  • A foam headed paint brush
  • Whatever material you choose to use to cover the boxes. I used comic book pages cause my boys are crazy fans 🙂 You can also use tissue paper…which can be super fun with all the different kinds and colors available. Also you can use newspaper comics.

My suggestion is to paint some glue on the area then place a piece of the paper on it then brush glue over top of the paper. That’s ALL that you do! Put some glue down, place the paper, brush glue on top. Keep going, overlapping all the pieces till your project is finished! Set it aside and let it dry. (Doesn’t take too long.)

Here are some of my finished boxes made with comic book pages and tissue paper!

IMAG2928 IMAG2930-1-1-1

IMG_20120827_183455

 Hope I helped inspire some ideas for you! I’d love to see pictures of your projects if you try this. Now go get your craft on! 🙂

