Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been wanting to design an easy yet versatile pattern that could be made into a cowl OR a scarf depending on my crochet ADD mood 😉 OH you know exactly what I mean my friends! Well I finally sat down & worked one up. I am thrilled with how it came out! I hope you like it too.

You are free to work this pattern as skinny or as thick & as long or as short as you like! You can join the ends together and make a cowl or leave it open and make a scarf. See how easy it is! You can make a few all different styles and colors from the SAME pattern. Love it!

2 in 1 Cowl/Scarf FREE Pattern2 in 1 Cowl/Scarf FREE Pattern

Materials:
Any WW (Worsted Weight) yarn ~ I used Vanna’s Choice & Lion Brand Wool-Ease
You will need 1 skein for the scarf and 2 skeins for the cowl if using those brands.
Size I 5.5mm hook
Yarn Needle to weave in ends

Abbreviations:
st(s) – stitch(es)
sp – space
sk – skip
slst – slip stitch
ch – chain
sc – single crochet
hdc – half double crochet
BLO – back loop only
FHdc – foundation half double crochet ~ follow this link for instructions on how to work this: http://newstitchaday.com/how-to-crochet-the-half-double-crochet-chainless-foundation/

NOTE 1: The ch1 NEVER counts as a stitch.
NOTE 2: The tutorial photos are for instructional purposes ONLY. Do not rely on them for stitch counts.
NOTE 3: Your beginning chain, no matter how skinny or thick you want, make sure it is in multiples of 3 PLUS 1 st.
For example: 9 (multiple of 3) + 1 = 10 for your beginning chain.

TO START:

Row 1 – FHdc beginning ch count, ch1, turn. (I did 31 for the cowl & 16 for the scarf)
Row 2 – hdc in BLO across, ch1, turn.
backloop

firstst

pic

Row 3 to whatever desired length you want (I did 83 for the cowl & 153 for the scarf) – Repeat Row 2.

*After the last row is worked ~
IF you are working the COWL:
ch1, now work 3sc in the indicated spaces around. See picture below.
3scsps
edge

When you reach the end, line up the side of the cowl and slst up the seam.

After you slst up the seam, ch1, 3sc in the indicated spaces around (just like the other side), slst to join. Fasten Off and weave in all your ends!! 🙂

IF you are working the SCARF:
ch1, and instead of sewing up the seam you will work 3sc in each space indicated from pictures above and 3sc in each corner. When you reach the ends work *3sc, sk2* repeating across (see picture below), slst to first sc made to join. Fasten Off and weave in your ends!
scends

I really hope you enjoy this pattern! As always you are free to sell anything you make from my patterns…it’s yours!…I just ask you to link back to this post for pattern credit. Thank you so much!

This pattern is also available as an instant PDF download from
my Craftsy & Ravelry shops!

